Parks and Recreation


It is the duty of the Parks & Recreation Department to provide park and recreation facilities that serve the needs of Perry County residents and encourage and promote tourism. This is done by developing and maintaining the public lands designated as parks of Perry County for the use of its residents and visitors.

The Perry County Parks & Recreation Department consists of 4 park facilities ranging in size from 1 acre to 128 acres. These facilities are located along the Ohio River Scenic Byway (Hwy 66) on the southern and eastern sides of Perry County. Some amenities available at our parks consist of a scenic overlook of the Ohio River and Cannelton Locks & Dam, two public boat launches, walking trails, shelter houses, and restroom facilities.

The Perry County Parks & Recreation Department is operated by a full-time Director and a five-member Board of Directors.

Any questions can be directed to the Director using the contact information given.

Board Members

According to Indiana Code 36-10-3-5, the Park and Recreation Board is made up of 5 members. Two members are appointed by the Circuit Court Judge, one member is appointed by the county executive, and two members are appointed by the county fiscal body. Terms are for 4 years.

Board meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 5 p.m. at the Perry County Courthouse.  All meetings are open to the public.

Board Members

Calvin Cash
Bret Lutgring
Warren Taylor
Roger Smith
Vince Gagliardi


Department Head

Greg Hendershot, Director
Perry County Parks & Recreation Department
65 Park Avenue
Tell City, IN 47586

Phone: 812-547-3453
Cell: 812-719-0268
E-mail: [email protected]

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.