PERRY COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MINUTES - JANUARY 2, 2019

The Perry County Board of Commissioners met at 6:00 p.m. as was duly advertised. All commissioners Randy Kleaving, Bill Amos and Thomas J Hauser were in attendance. A media representative of the *Perry County News* was present. Also in attendance were County Administrator, Teresa Kanneberg and County Attorney, Chris Goffinet. Sheriff Alan Malone was also present.

REORGANIZATION

The first order of business was to reorganize the Board of Commissioners for 2019. Bill made the motion to nominate Randy Kleaving as President for 2019, and Tom seconded the motion. The motion carried 3-0.

Tom made the motion to nominate Bill Amos as Vice-President, and Randy seconded the motion. The motion carried 3-0.

MEETING TIMES

Bill made the motion to have the Commissioners meetings the same as in 2018. They will be the first Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m. and the third Tuesday of every month at 8:00 a.m., unless noted. During election times, the meeting will be moved to the Armory Annex. Tom seconded the motion. Motion carried 3-0.

<u> 2019 BLANKET BOND – HARPENAU INSURANCE CO. – COUNTY EMPLOYEES</u>

Auditor Pam Goffinet presented the Commissioners with the annual blanket bond to cover all county employees with exceptions. The Sheriff and the Treasurer's office are on their own bonds because of the amount of money they handle. She informed them that she had met Rick Harpenau, Harpenau Insurance, Co., and he said that there were no changes on the bonds. Tom made the motion to approve the bonds, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0. Commissioners signed the documents.

ORDINANCE – TRANSFER FEE OF PUBLIC UTILITIES – EASEMENTS

Auditor Pam Goffinet presented the Commissioners with an Ordinance amending the transfer fee for easements from public utilities. The amendment is that no public utility shall be charged more than \$5.00 for each easement presented to the Auditor regardless of the number of parcels contained in said easement. Attorney Chris Goffinet prepared the ordinance. This goes into effect on January 1, 2019. Tom made the motion to approve the ordinance, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0. (See attachment "A" O-C-19-1)

<u>ADDITIONAL APPROPRIATION – HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT</u>

Steve Howell, Highway Superintendent, presented the Commissioners with an additional appropriation to approve for Bridge Inspection in the amount of \$152,736.00. Steve said the bridge inspection is a four year cycle and he just got the paperwork back from the Indiana Department of Transportation. Bill made the motion to approve the additional, seconded by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

BOARD APPOINTMENTS

County Administrator, Teresa Kanneberg, explained that she had received several letters for the different board appointments for 2019. They are as follows:

ADA & Title VI Coordinator: 1 year term, one appt. – one letter received: Teresa Kanneberg (Current). Bill made the motion to reappoint Teresa Kanneberg, second made by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

Alcoholic Beverage Board: 1 year term, one *appt. – one letter received: Merle Doogs (Current)*. Tom made the motion to reappoint Merle Doogs, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Convention, Recreation & Visitor Promotion Commission: 2 year terms, 3 appts. – 4 letters received: Dan Adams, (current), Mark Laflin (current), Cindi Taylor (current) and Ian Jarboe. Bill made the motion to reappoint the 3 current members, Dan, Mark and Cindi, seconded by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

Emergency Management Advisory Council: 2 year terms, 8 appts.(not all by County) – 6 letters received: Dave Briggeman (current- Troy Twp not City), Phil Schuetter (current – Clark/Oil), Carl Joe Flamion (current – Leopold/Anderson), Patrick Rich- Troy, Derrick Woodfield – Anderson, and Steve Howell – Union, Randy made the motion to appoint Tom Hauser for the Commissioner appt., seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0. Tom made the motion to appoint the 3 current members, Dave, Phil and Carl Joe and to appoint Steve Howell for Union/Tobin., seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Health Board: 4 year term, 2 appts – 2 letters received: Brian Herwig (Hospital Administration), Kevin Nic Etienne (general public). Tom made the motion to appoint Brian and Nic, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Hospital Association: 4 year term -1 appt, no letter received. Slated currently is Kevin Waninger

IN 15 Regional Planning Commission: 1 year terms- 3 appts; (generally one is a Commissioner) - 3 letters received: Tara Damin (current), Larry James (current), and Susan Miller. Bill made the motion to appoint Tom for the Commissioner appt., seconded by Randy. Motion carried 3-0. Tom made the motion to appoint Tara, a current member, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0. Bill made the motion to appoint Larry, seconded by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

Perry County Development Corporation – Delegate: 1 year term, 1 appt.— Bill made the motion to appoint Tom, seconded by Randy. Motion carried 3-0.

Perry County Development Corporation – Director – Bill made a motion to appoint Tom to complete Larry James term, seconded by Randy. Motion carried 3-0. Term expires on December 31, 2020.

Plan Commission: 4 year term, 1 appt. – 1 letter received. Tom made the motion to reappoint Robert J Harding, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Port Authority: 4 year term- 1 appt. -2 letters received: Daniel Thomas (current), and Patrick Rich. Tom made the motion to reappoint Daniel, second was made by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Public Defender Board: 3 year term, 1 appt. – 1 letter received. Bill made the motion to reappoint Paul Malone, seconded by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

Public Library: 4 year term -1 appt. -1 letter received: Patsy Alvey. Tom made the motion to appoint Patsy, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Redevelopment Authority: 3 year terms, 3 appts. - 3 letters received: Louie Heitkemper (current), Pam Krygielka (current) and Margaret Evrard (current). Tom made the motion to reappoint Louie, Pam and Margaret, seconded by Bill. Motion carried 3-0.

Redevelopment Commission: 1 year terms –3 appts.- 7 letters received: Paul Malone (Current), Bernard Hermann (Current), Larry James, Patrick Rich, Steve Stemle, John Oberhausen and Patrick Clark. Bill made the motion to reappoint Paul Malone and Bernard Hermann and appoint Larry James, seconded by Tom. Motion carried 3-0.

Solid Waste Management District: All active Commissioners are on this board by virtue of office.

Zoning Appeals: 4 year term – 1 appt. – remaining of vacant term expires 2021. This position is still vacant.

MISCELLANEOUS

Recorder Jane James introduced her office staff and invited the Commissioners to stop by her office to see what their job entails.

Becky Cronin and Sharon Warner, election workers, came before the Commissioners to request that this year if there is a meeting during election time, be it moved to a different location. It is inconvenient for them to move all their papers and also because it is a security issue of having the voting machines in there. Mandy said she talked with the Judge and we can have our meetings in the Courtroom. The Commissioners said they would work with them.

Randy Klea	ving	Bill Amos	Thomas J Hauser
D 1 KI		D'II A	
The meeting ended in open session at 6:30 p.m. Minutes approved this 15 th day of January, 2019.			
		t the next regular meeting of 5, 2019 at 8:00 a.m.	the County Commissioners
	2019 meeting.	said he will hold the Board o	i Finance meeting at the